The Award Framework

About Us

The Award is comprised of three levels and four sections. Participants complete all four Sections at each level in order to achieve either their Bronze, Silver or Gold Award. At Gold level, Participants also complete a Residential Project.


Voluntary Service

Participants volunteer in their communities, make a positive contribution to society and demonstrate social responsibility. Examples include: First Aid, environmental sanitation, care for the physically challenged, elderly, sick or visit to orphanages etc.


Enable participants to develop their talents, broaden their abilities, increase their self-confidence and improve their employability such as painting, craft work, fashion designing, music, photography etc.

Physical Recreation

Encourage young people to improve their fitness and performance, and enjoy, healthy lifestyle for good mental and physical wellbeing. Examples include: jogging, basketball, badminton, cycling, football etc.

Gold Residential Project (Gold level only)

The Gold Residential Project, completed only at Gold level, aims to broaden Participants’ horizons through involvement with others in a residential settin

Adventurous Journey

Young people discover a spirit of adventure and deeper understanding of the environment and the great outdoors. Examples are: bush walking, hiking, cycling across a state or town, canoeing etc.

Note: A Major Section must be chosen for each Award level where a Participant hasn’t completed a previous Award level. This includes all Bronze Participants, all Silver Participants who have not completed their Bronze Award and all Gold Award Participants who have not completed their Silver Award. The Major Section is undertaken for an additional length of time. A Participant can choose their Major Section from Physical Recreation, Skill or Voluntary Service. The time taken varies dependent on the Award level.