Our Lineage

About Us

The Duke of Edinbruhgh's international Award was founded by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh KG, KT in 1956, in conjunction with Kurt Hahn, the German educationalist. Both were concerned that young people's development was lacking in certain key areas, and they resolved to create a program that would be a do-it-yourself kit in the art of civilized living.

The subsequent spread of the award across the globe is testament to the universal appeal of the program, and the vision of its founder. However, even HRH admits that this took him by suprise: ‘when the first trial of the award was launched in 1956, no one had any idea quite what would happen . it was an instant success, and the Award has been growing and expanding woldwide ever since.’

The Award is now delivered in more than 130 countries worldwide, reaching over one million young people annually and over five million Award achieved since 1956.



Meet our Board of Trustees


In the federal Republic of Nigeria, The Award was introduced in the 1970s, nut was not launched officially untill 1986 as was run under the name The Nigeria  National Youth Award(NNYA). The Award was however reintroduced in 2014.

Chrysalis Youth Foundation is registered under the law of Nigeria as not for profit Non-Governmental Organization dedicated to carrying out activities to promote youth development in Nigeria. It is licensed by the Duke of Edinburgh’s international Award Foundation; a registered charity which drives and supports the Award’s global activity and growth, ensuring that young people worldwide can find their purpose, passion and place in the world. Since it reintroduction in 2014, over 34,000nyoung people have participated in the Award and the Award is currently being delivered in over 200 Award centers(The includes Private and Government schools, religious institution, youth organizations etc. ) through the support of more than 800 Adult volunteers.


Kurt Hahn, a Jewish educationalist, fled to the UK from Germany founded Gordonstoun, a school in Scotland where the Award has its origins

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award for Boys started under the Chairmanship of HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, with Sir John (later Lord) Hunt appointed as Director.

The Award had four sections:

1. Rescue and Public Service

2. Expeditions

3. Pursuits and Projects

4. Fitness

At the time, the framework was only offered to boys aged 15 to 18 (a three year gap between finishing school and starting military service).

The Award for girls began. However, girls only did three sections, and these were very different to the boys sections:

1. Design for Living

2. Adventure

3. Interests and Service

The first schools outside the UK launched the Award: Malta, Malaysia, Canada, Zimbabwe and Mauritius.

There were now three regional offices running in the UK and the Award now operated in 22 countries worldwide.

Sir John Hunt retired as Director and is succeeded by Alfred Blake

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award for Young People aged 14 to 21 was launched. This amalgamated the girls and boys scheme, and the Service, Expeditions and Interests sections were available at all levels to everyone.

At Bronze and Silver Level, young women took Design for Living and young men Physical Activity. At Gold Level participants could choose between the latter two sections and also had to complete a Residential Project.

The next major revision of the Award occurred when it became one programme for all young people between the ages of 14 and 25. The Award programme had four main sections:

1. Service

2. Expedition

3. Skills

4. Physical Recreation

5. Residential Project (at Gold Level

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award International Association is established with 40 countries involved.

The Association is the collective term used to describe all of the key stakeholders involved in delivering the Award. It includes the Founder (HRH The Duke of Edinburgh), the Foundation, the financial supporters, Award Operators and participants, Award holders and volunteers.

The Award is now being delivered in over 130 countries and territories via National Award Operators (NAOs) and through Independent Award Centres (IACs).

60th Anniversary of the Award