• March 17, 2020
  • intaward
  • 0

The International Award for Young People Nigeria held a Bronze Award ceremony at Awori Ajeromi Senior Grammar School in Ajeromi-Ifelodun Local Government Area.

The 179 Award recipients were drawn from 19 schools in Lagos State Education District V who having gone through the four required Award sections skill, Voluntary Service, Physical Recreation and Adventurous Journey are now qualified to be decorated with the Bronze Award badges and receive their Bronze Award certificate. 

WhatsApp Image 2020-03-05 at 12.41.30 (1).jpeg

The National Director, Oshoke Bello, thanked the Award recipients for persevering throughout the Award.

He said the Award provided participants “a global framework for non-formal education and learning, which challenges young people to dream big, celebrate their achievements and make a difference in their world.

“Through developing transferable skills, increasing their fitness levels, cultivating a sense of adventure and volunteering in their community, the Award helps young people to find their purpose, passion and place in the world.”

The event was graced by the presence of Mrs. Folake Elizabeth Fawunmi a Trustee; she congratulated the Award recipients for having joined the millions around the world who had achieved in the Award.

She urged them to apply the lessons learnt during the Award to make positive impact wherever they find themselves.

WhatsApp Image 2020-03-05 at 12.41.33 (1).jpeg

An Award recipient Abdul-Wujud Alabi, from Newland Senior Secondary School, sharing his Award experience said “I choose reading as my skill, teaching as a voluntary service, basketball as physical recreation and we also explored the Lagos Water Corporation for our Adventurous Journey. It was indeed, an opportunity to have gone through this framework. I will continue to remain grateful”

WhatsApp Image 2020-03-05 at 12.42.05 (1).jpeg

Another Awardee, Oloola Rukayat Jumoke, from Ojoku Senior High School while sharing her Award testimony said “public speaking was difficult for me before the Award but, the Award has helped me to conquer that challenge. I do not regret participating in the Award,”

WhatsApp Image 2020-03-05 at 12.42.04.jpeg

The participating schools were: Ajeromi Ifelodun Senior Secondary School, Adeolu Senior Secondary School, Mokoya Senior Secondary School, Expressway Senior High School, Ojoku Senior High School, Ojo Senior Secondary School, Newland Senior Secondary School, Navy Town Senior Secondary School, Community Senior Secondary School, Kuje Senior Secondary School, Lagos State Senior Model College, Creek Senior Secondary School, Alakoto Senior Secondary School, Agboju Senior High School, Army Cantonment Girls Senior Secondary School, Awori Ajeromi Senior Grammar School, Amuwo Senior High School, Army Cantonment Boys Senior Secondary School and Reservation Senior Secondary School.

Report written by Robert Egbe (The Nations Newspaper)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *